Chocolate Brownie Muffins

4 Jan

Mmm, chocolate. Actually, I originally glossed over this page when I first flicked through the recipe book. It didn’t look particularly “wow”. But then I got a craving for a good solid gobful of chocolate, and this seemed to fit the bill.

This recipe is taken from the Australian Women’s Weekly Complete Book of Cupcakes and Baking.

Ingredients

2 cups* self-raising flour

1/3 cup cocoa powder

1/3 cup caster sugar

60g butter, melted

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup pistachios, chopped coarsely

1/2 chocolate hazelnut spread

1 egg, lightly beaten

3/4 cup milk

1/2 cup soured cream

*Measuring Cups


My recipe book is Australian, so they use cup measurements, as do American recipes. Happily, I found these American-style measuring cups in Sainsbury’s for about £4. Sorry Delia – cups are definitely the way forward. For me it’s so much quicker and cleaner than measuring everything out onto a scale.

Method (makes 12):

1. Preheat oven to 200 oC. Fill 12-hole muffin pan with cases, or grease the pan.

2. Sift dry ingredients into a large bowl; stir in remaining ingredients.

3. Divide mixture among holes of prepared pan.

4. Bake for about 20 minutes. Dust with sifted extra cocoa if desired.

Adjustments:

I didn’t use pistachios because they were too expensive.

I can’t be bothered to grease the tin, so I’m using cases instead. I like how they look like little upside-down debutantes in tutus. No? Just me then.

Sifting it all together. Is there anything more satisfying?

Mixing in the other ingredients. My silicone spatula-thingy means none of the mixture sticks to the side of the bowl.

See how scraping the bowl had made little cartoon emphasis lines around the chocolate mix? It’s like it’s saying “ta-da!” Or even “ahhhh!” (*phonetic for the angelic song of a holy choir – like that bit at the beginning of The Simpsons).

The mixture is gooey and looks like chocolate mousse.

In you go my pretties.

Anyone know how to bake without making a horrible mess? (Pete would say this is my favourite bit of the process.)

Fresh (literally ten seconds) out of the oven. I did a happy little jig when I saw how they’d risen.

Yes, they looked cracked on top, but so do the ones in the book. Is that a muffin’s defining characteristic?

Voila.

VERDICT:

Taste

After 20 minutes, the kitchen smelled like Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory. When I get the muffins out of the oven, it’s all I can do not to stick my face in them immediately. And when I do? Lovely – especially with a nice cup of tea.

Recipe cons:

Um, none? Really simple and quick to make. Nothing fiddly. I would say that it is most definitely a muffin and not a brownie – they are light and spongey, rather than having the heaviness/chewiness I’d associate with a brownie. They are, however, brown – so I’ll give it a pass.

Recipe pros:

These are possibly the best things I’ve ever made.

The cakes are moist and bouncy and very chocolatey. The chocolate chips have retained most of their shape and ooze chocolate when you bite into the muffin.

Leave a Reply

